The Trouble with Californian Communities and Corporate Housing–Hyprocracy and Hybrids”


Last week, my friend in the Bay area, Tim Lohrentz wrote on Facebook, “The apartment complex I was going to move in to told me that I can’t due to my electric car – they don’t want a cord dangling out my window and 30 feet to where the car would be parked. So I am looking again.”

The town that this occurred in was Petaluma. Lohrentz wrote,”It’s a great town. Petaluma is a Maya-Miwok name that means ‘bounty of the earth pouring out’.”

One friend appropriately inquired, “[I]sn’t that some sort of housing discrimination? anti-eco-carism or something? you are out there in California where all new environmental law starts…sounds like the beginning of a case to me…?”

Lohrentz responded, “Technically I could have the car there, they just wouldn’t let me ever plug it in. I think the marketing/image approach has more potential than the discrimination approach. LOL”

Most comments have been as follows:

“Absurd!”

“[L]osers!”

“Hope you find a place soon that will let you plug in!”

“Not like[ly].”

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Trouble with Californian Communities and Corporate Housing–Hyprocracy and Hybrids”

  1. Tom Keenan says:

    Although it won’t help those that want to hang a cord out the window of their apartment, California’s SB209 would remove arbitrary restrictions on the installation of EV charging equipment.

    Passed in the legislature, it is now sitting on the Governor’s desk awaiting signature…

    http://www.aroundthecapitol.com/Bills/SB_209/20112012/

Leave a Reply

