“Totemism” Chronically American


Tony Campolo on American Totemism is an improtant understanding for evangelical Americans to internalize.

DoubleThink

The reader will immediately recognize that I have only a cursory knowledge of what I am writing about.  I am good at bluffing but privately I make no pretence to being a credible intellectual. I have met a few of these folks here or there so I know what they are. I hear something once and I’m off and running with it.

Perhaps twenty years ago I heard preacher, sociologist and “comedian” Dr. Tony Campolo discuss the concept of “totemism.”  I had taken both cultural anthropology and sociology in university and had heard the term but paid little attention to the concept at that time. Campolo referred to anthropologist Margaret Mead as one of those who studied the phenomena and went on to explain some of her observations.

Though the word seemed ponderous the concept did not. Campolo handily explained that the idea came from the totem. He…

View original post 731 more words

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

