“In 2012, Syrian government forces destroyed the village where my extended family lived for generations.”


I was born in Damascus.

In 2012, Syrian government forces destroyed the village where my extended family lived for generations. More than 400,000 Syrians have lost their lives. Six million have been forced to flee their homes and may never be able to return.

Syrian women are risking their lives every day to create peace.

Today, I’m the Director of the Office of the Syrian National Coalition to the United Nations.

At the 2014 colloquium, I (far right) shared lessons and made lifelong connections with women from Afghanistan, Colombia, the Philippines, Rwanda, and my home country of Syria.
When the coalition was formed, there were 74 members. Only one was a woman. Before I agreed to join, I asked myself if the coalition cared about women’s voices. I asked myself if it would do enough for women’s rights.

Then I realized something: if I’m not there pushing from within, I only have myself to blame.

Every one of us needs to step up if we think we can make a difference.

This January, I am traveling to Cambridge, Massachusetts, for Inclusive Security’s annual colloquium, joining women peacemakers from almost a dozen conflict regions including South Sudan, Iraq, Colombia, Rwanda, and Afghanistan.

We have the opportunity to network and expand our skills. We can then bring fresh ideas back to our countries and train others so that this movement of women peacemakers spreads like wildfire.

But to do that, we need your help. For travel, accommodations, and training, it costs $15,000 for one woman to attend the colloquium. I’m writing today to ask if you will make a donation to help make it possible for us to take part in this life-changing experience.

Women need to be in the middle of the decision-making process. We can’t be shy. We can’t hold back.

With your help, we can do more to create peace around the world.

Thank you,

Mariam Jalabi
Director
Office of the Syrian National Coalition to the United Nations

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

