How does the written word change when the song is sung? The Evolution of symbolism, hyperbole, and sound


I wrote about the web of narration, echoes of footnotes and the spoken word after reading Manuel Puig’s KISS OF THE SPIDER WOMAN a few decades back. As I did so, I read Goethe’s stories and heard echoes of the same discussions about narrations. Songs and short stories are mixed throughout Magical Realism and other imagery. When a story or song is narrated the text picks up a life of its own and a power that on paper, it might never had.

Adrienne Gomez

What happens when the written word is Howled?

I wrote this song about a decade  ago, when I was reading a lot of Cormac McCarthy novels. He paints a picture of a pretty rough world, and at the time, this was an appropriate reflection of the life I was living.

I like this song. It is one of the first songs I ever wrote. I’ve recorded it a few times. The recordings are ok. I have one with some harmonica that adds some good atmosphere.

I was about to re record it a few weeks ago, and begin work on a video, when gun violence in this country again exploded across the news headlines. I sighed, sad for those involved, and dutifully tucked my beloved song away.

It doesn’t sound the same anymore. I don’t have a “gun” message to offer to the world. There are some artists that…

View original post 388 more words

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

