I grew up in a family filled with expectations, but…


Greetings from Rob!

Allowing people to be who they authentically are, without expectation or judgement, is the greatest gift that you can give to anyone and it goes double when that person is yourself.

I grew up in a family filled with expectations. My grandparents on my father’s side both were academics and on my mother’s side my grandfather was a CEO and my grandmother was the daughter of a CEO. My father was a professional ballplayer before giving it up to marry my mom and become a successful banker and investment advisor. I was expected to excel academically, athletically and socially, to have the right friends, play the right sports and go to the right schools.

The core of my personality is motivated by performance, so I pretty much did what I was told and met all those expectations. But there was always a strong part of me that nobody understood. I didn’t even get it. That part just wanted to fool around, cause trouble, make people laugh, break the rules and generally just play! There were times that I was so compelled to act out that I couldn’t contain myself and sometimes it got me into trouble. After an incident in college, my parents sent me to therapy and the psychologist told us that I just was woefully immature.

I was embarrassed by that part of me and I beat myself up for it for years, despite my apparent success.

Then I met Taibi Kahler and learned about PCM, how I naturally am built and about the building blocks that go into making everyone who they are. I came to understand the Rebel part of me, what that part of me needed and how I could get those needs met positively to stay out of trouble (well, mostly). I learned that there are innate, core elements of everyone that provide them with strengths and weaknesses and that explain why they behave as they do, both good and bad. (Click here to learn more)

 

And now I accept myself for who I am and others for who they are. Sure, I’m human and I trip up, but I have the tools to recover and to make myself, and help others make themselves, into the best versions of who we are – without expectation or judgement. I count myself lucky to be part of a team that is committed to teaching others about PCM.

Process Communication Model

  1. A short introduction of the Process Communication Model (PCM)
  2. Process Communication Model Personality Type Series: Workaholic
With gratitude,

 Rob

P.S.

Courses and Certifications

PCM Seminar 1, Core Concepts: February 6-8, March 27-29

PCM Seminar 2, Advanced: February 9 & 10, March 30 & 31

PCM Trainer Certification/Mentor Certification: April 3-7/April 4-6

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I grew up in a family filled with expectations, but…

Leave a Reply

