The importance of the table, for all of us


The importance of the table, for all of us.

The importance of the table, for all of us.

I’ve been home alone this past week, and I’ve found myself thinking about tables. I’ve been alone because my youngest daughter Hannah is back at college and my husband Gary and our oldest, Zoe, have been out in Portland, Oregon together. Zoe is starting a new job there next week and Gary went out with… Read more »

Facebook has been making me sick but getting well isn’t easy.

Facebook has been making me sick but getting well isn't easy.

Every time I spend any time on Facebook lately I find myself using one of the alternatives to the Facebook Like button – the sad face or angry face – and saying: This is soul-crushing. Heart-breaking. This makes me sick. And now I am actually sick. I have a very bad cold in the middle… Read more »

A scary camping trip and what I learned about fear, racism and the Good Samaritan along the way.

A scary camping trip and what I learned about fear, racism and the Good Samaritan along the way.

This past week, I was at a music/arts/justice/spirit festival in North Carolina, called Wild Goose. My friend, the poet cin salach, and I were co-leading a small workshop at the festival about writing, about writing the truth, about how we need to tell the stories it scares us most to tell because that’s how the… Read more »

I didn’t know what to say about Orlando, so I wrote a song.

Thumbnail image for 'I didn't know what to say about Orlando, so I wrote a song.'

After Orlando, after Charleston, after Paris, after week by week reading about the gun violence and deaths in Chicago, it’s just begun to seem insane to me. And unbearable. When does it stop? How does it stop? This is a song my husband Gary and I wrote about that, this past week, with help from… Read more »

What I learned the night I ran into Prince at the popcorn counter.

What I learned the night I ran into Prince at the popcorn counter.

When Prince died last week, unexpectedly, at only 57 years old, while so many people mourned, and we all posted on social media about what Prince had contributed to the world, creatively and personally, I couldn’t help but think about the moment I stood next to him at an art house movie theater concession stand… Read more »

What’s Lent good for? Ask the baby chipmunk.

What's Lent good for? Ask the baby chipmunk.

Lent couldn’t have come at a worse time this year. For one thing it was too early. I had just finished being all reflective and trying to get in touch with deep spiritual truths during the Advent/Christmas season, and then ba-boom! Lent arrives and I’m supposed to do that again? The whole “give up stuff… Read more »

I spent way too much time doing this on Valentine’s Day

I spent way too much time doing this on Valentine's Day

What do you do when you’re still madly in love with the man you’ve been married to for oh so many years and find it hard to pass up any opportunity to celebrate that…but you really aren’t sure Valentine’s Day is a good thing? I mean, isn’t it just an excuse to spend way too… Read more »

“Real men love Jesus…” Really?

"Real men love Jesus..." Really?

As a person who has railed against the expectations and limitations placed on women a time or two in this blog, and who has also, possibly, railed against what I would consider using Jesus’ name in vain (i.e. using it to beat others up, shut certain people out) now and then, I was very interested… Read more »

Do we listen to Anne Lamott or Oprah? The “diet vs. no diet” debate is on.

Do we listen to Anne Lamott or Oprah? The “diet vs. no diet” debate is on.

A week or so ago I ran across Anne Lamott’s post on Facebook warning people not to start a diet in January, as so many people do, or at least, consider doing. Now, to be clear, I’m a big fan of Anne Lamott and I think much of what she has to say on a… Read more »

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

