Time to Pray


Palm 55:22

Cast your burden on the Lord, and He will sustain you

 

Do you remember hearing the words of the Bible verse (Matthew 18: 9) that says “And if your eye causes you to sin, gouge it out and throw it away. It’s better to enter eternal life with only one eye than to have two eyes and be thrown into the fire of hell.”  How about if during this Lenten season, leading up to Easter, we substitute the word “I” for “eye.”  If you think about it, a large portion of our sin is caused by us being focused on “I” or “me.”  “I” get angry because that person did something to “ME.”  I get frustrated because “MY” goal has been blocked.  I speak harshly about a person because “I” don’t like what they did to “ME.”  How dare they treat “ME” like that!  Why can’t my husband or wife just see it “MY” way?!  What say we try to spend Lent taking a second to take our “I” out, and look at things from someone else’s perspective.  Put “THEM” first (love your neighbor as yourself).  If your “I” makes you sin…..take it out!

 

This network is meant to focus on others who need our help and strength through prayer.  We don’t try to explain away their pain, frustration, confusion, sadness, desperation, or loss….instead we lay them at the feet of Jesus, and say “We trust you Lord, your will be done.”

You need to pray with someone because where 2 or 3 are gathered in his name, he is there.–kas

….and a note from a prayer partner: “As always I thank you so much for being willing to stand in the gap for those who are unable to pray themselves, or just need us to rally around them in prayer to bolster their strength and their faith in the healing power of God.  More of “YOU” and less of “ME”, Lord.

 

May I focus more on “they” and less on “ME.”

 

Love you, Lord!

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

