Who wants a taste of “The Urantia Book”?

After PentecostThe Urantia Book

The Urantia Book (sometimes called the Urantia Papers or The Fifth Epochal Revelation) is a spiritual and philosophical book that originated in Chicago sometime between 1924 and 1955. The authorship remains a matter of speculation.

The authors introduce the word “Urantia” as the name of the planet Earth and state that their intent is to “present enlarged concepts and advanced truth.”[1][2] The book aims to unite religion, science and philosophy,[3] and its enormous amount of material about science is unique among literature claimed to be presented by celestial beings.[4] Among other topics, the book discusses the origin and meaning of life, humankind’s place in the universe, the relationship between God and people, and the life of Jesus. It has been described as “a rich and complex moral narrative, equal parts Tolkien and St. Paul.”[5]

The Urantia Foundation, a U.S.-based non-profit group, first published The Urantia Book in 1955. In 2001, a jury found that the English-language book’s copyright was no longer valid in the United States after 1983.[6] The English text became a public domain work in the United States,[7] and in 2006 the international copyright expired.[a]  

Welcome to The Urantia Book!

Study Outline:  The Conceptual Organization of The Urantia Book

Part 1 The Central and Superuniverses

universe of universesThe Urantia Book provides a comprehensive background for understanding the physical, mindal, and spiritual structure of the universe—a universe that is spirit dominated and personality managed. This section provides an overview of some of those personalities and their relationship to the personality core of reality—the Universal Father and the Paradise Trinity.

Part 2 The Local Universe

local universeThis section of The Urantia Book contains an overview of life after death—the adventure of life in the Local Universe. It contains background on life evolution, local universe administration, and a compelling vision of human destiny.

Part 3 The History of Urantia—Planet Earth

history of earthThis detailed history of our world includes the geological and biological evolution, a new perspective on evolution and creationism, and a history of human cultural, religious, and spiritual development. It revitalizes the archetypal stories of Judeo-Christian religion including the rebellion of Lucifer, Adam and Eve, the visit of Melchizedek and Abraham, and much more.

Part 4 The Life and Teachings of Jesus

sea of galileeThe Urantia Book contains the most spiritually compelling story of Jesus anywhere in print. It provides a detailed narrative of Jesus’ entire life including the socalled “missing years,” his discourses, parables, significant life events, crucifixion and resurrection. This life and teachings of Jesus is supplemented by an extensive spiritual cosmology provided in the first three sections of The Urantia Book.

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s