Metaphors for Leaving


kairomancer

I remember when I told you, it was sunset.

I remember, afterwards, you ran
out the door because you already

imagined the words leaving my mouth
before my mouth left you. I remember

it was because
I didn’t know

how to love you.

It was because I didn’t know
how to go
from treading water

to trembling ground,
it was because
we were metaphors for each other,


it was because
the metaphors came too easy,

with the way we cast ourselves
to fit each other’s shadows, taking turns
to drown each other in black, I remember

it was sunset.
We were playing
suicide chess, where the goal
was to make your opponent
take all of your pieces, and we couldn’t

remember
whose turn it was
to play black, and I wondered
if that was just foreshadowing
for another metaphor,
it was because you made me
forget the difference between
penning…

View original post 145 more words

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

