Watch the inspiring Immigrant Heritage Month kickoff video now


I am an Immigrant

Kevin,

Since the launch of Immigrant Heritage Month four years ago, this annual event has grown into a powerful movement celebrating millions of immigrants and America’s immigrant heritage every June.

And I am very excited to announce that today is the first day of Immigrant Heritage Month 2017!

Watch the inspiring Immigrant Heritage Month kickoff video now to see what this wonderful month is all about:

Join us in celebrating immigrant heritage month!I have restaurants in Washington DC, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Miami, Philadelphia, Puerto Rico, and Mexico City. I’ve been named “Outstanding Chef” by the James Beard Foundation and recognized on the “Time 100” list of most influential people in the world.

But one of the things I’m most proud of is my immigrant heritage. My first role as a chef in America was thanks to an immigrant who believed in me, and in my restaurants, I hire immigrants to work on and lead my teams. In 2014 I was named an Outstanding American by Choice by President Barack Obama, an incredible honor.

When I became an American, I came to understand what it means to become an active citizen of the United States: we are all working to improve our democracy, to contribute to the rich social fabric that makes up this country. It means so much to me to be able to celebrate my heritage with my fellow immigrants, and all those who stand with us.

Kick off this year’s Immigrant Heritage Month by watching this video today. Stand with us.

Across all 50 states, artists, influencers, elected officials — and thousands of individuals — participated in Immigrant Heritage Month last year. This year, we’re going to make it even bigger.

Thank you for being a part of this,

José Andrés
ThinkFoodGroup & minibar by José Andrés

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

