Save our immigrant victims


Kevin,

It’s surreal to wake up every day and be reminded that, even though I have been living in America for the past 18 years, in a few months, all my honors and education might end up not mattering anymore.

That’s because I was born in Ica, Peru, and moved to the United States when I was five years old. Just like hundreds of thousands of my fellow Dreamers, I don’t have documentation, and right now, I don’t have a path to get it.

Congress needs to pass immigration policies that protect us Dreamers, not just for our own sake, but for the communities we contribute to and the national economy as well.

Check out the new website Dreamers.FWD.Us and take action to stand with Dreamers.

Maria Praeli, Dreamer

I never let anything keep me from advancing academically. Unfortunately, when high school ended, I was getting all these acceptance letters from universities, but I couldn’t go to any of them because I didn’t have a Social Security number, and therefore didn’t qualify for financial aid. Still, I found a way to go to community college and transfer to Quinnipiac University, where I graduated magna cum laude.

Dreamers like me have proven ourselves time and time again to be upstanding members of our society — as teachers and nurses, managers and military personnel.

But right now, our country’s immigration system is failing us. And that means it’s failing companies and communities, too.

Now I may not be able to contribute to the country which I have called home for so long. All because Congress hasn’t passed a permanent legislative solution for Dreamers like me yet.

Call your member of Congress and ask him or her to stand with Dreamers now.

Congress must pass a legislative solution that gives hardworking and otherwise law-abiding Dreamers like me the opportunity to apply for legal status and live out in the open without fear of deportation. It’s the right thing to do for us and for America’s communities and economy.

Thank you for standing with us today,

Maria Praeli
Dreamer

Dear Kevin,

President Trump’s proposed 2018 budget would drastically cut funding for refugees. If approved, it would substantially lower the number of refugees brought to safety in the United States and severely decrease what the U.S spends to help refugees overseas.

We can’t let that happen.

Now is a critical time for the American Jewish community to speak up. In the midst of the largest refugee crisis in recorded history, with over 65 million people displaced around the world, the U.S. must do more—not less—to help refugees.

Trump’s budget proposal is only the first step; Congress will ultimately decide the budget for 2018. We need to make sure our elected officials provide enough funding for refugees and allow organizations like HIAS to continue the important work of helping refugees here and around the world.

Please take a minute to urge your elected officials to fund a humanitarian response to the global refugee crisis that demonstrates America’s leadership and honors our values.

Thank you,

Melanie Nezer Melanie Nezer

Melanie Nezer
Vice President,
Policy and Advocacy

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

