“Unforgiveness means the very person who hurt us, in a sense, controls us with our permission”


 

Free E-Book Download:
Guarding Your Heart

Your heart is the wellspring of life; it is the source of everything you’ll ever say and do – every affection, every action, every attitude.

Join Doug Hutchcraft as he discusses how we need to examine our hearts and to get rid of anything that is polluting it on this free e-book, “Guarding Your Heart.”

 

Join the Conversation

It was on virtually every newscast, here and around the world – the death of Nelson Mandela. He, of course, was the first black president in South Africa, where the 90% black majority had never had the right to vote. Or many other basic human rights for that matter.

Four American Presidents, the head of the United Nations, the leaders of scores of nations; I mean, they all attended the memorial service to honor him.

I’m Ron Hutchcraft and I want to have A Word With You today about “Nelson Mandela – And How To Be Free.”

Beyond all the tributes of those powerful people, Nelson Mandela actually has a message for me, and maybe for you, about how to be truly free. Because what changed his nation can help change ours. It can change our family. It could change a feud; a fractured relationship.

I remember when Nelson Mandela was considered a terrorist by our government. But now, he is lauded as one of the great – maybe the greatest – leaders of our time. He was imprisoned when he finally resorted to violence to end apartheid; a policy that empowered 10% of the population to suppress the 90%. I visited South Africa during that time and, I’ll tell you, it felt like a nation at war.

And, I was there after a worldwide outcry brought about Nelson Mandela’s release after 27 years of crippling imprisonment. Within four years, the walls of apartheid came crashing down. And stunningly, Nelson Mandela had been elected the leader of his nation.

But the Mandela that came out of prison wasn’t the same one who went in. The younger Mandela was full of hate and bitterness for what had been done to his people. But something happened; something that changed him – and ultimately saved a nation. He forgave. He said, “As I walked out the door toward that gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn’t leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I’d still be in prison.”

That’s powerful! See, unforgiveness means the very person who hurt us, in a sense, controls us with our permission. We can’t stop thinking about them. We continually replay what they did to us, and then we insure that it will poison our present and our future. But forgiving cuts the rope that ties us to the hurts and the hurters of the past. As President of South Africa, Nelson Mandela was suddenly in the power position. He had the power to get even, to punish. But instead, he reached out to those who had been his “enemies”, speaking their language, including them in his government, embracing one of the most despised symbols of the white-dominated past – the national rugby team.

And a nation that was poised to explode into a race war became a beacon of reconciliation. Nelson Mandela’s journey to forgiveness was played out on a global stage. Mine isn’t. But the stakes for me and my little personal world are just as high. Will I keep letting unforgiveness make me a prisoner of the pain of my past? Will I continue to risk poisoning the people close to me with the bitterness I’m harboring? Will I let the healing begin by trying to build a bridge where there’s been a wall for a long time?

Poet Maya Angelou said in an interview, “It is a gift to yourself to forgive and I would say that Nelson Mandela’s gift to the world was his ability to forgive.” That’s a gift we need to reach out for – and then we need to start giving it.

One man’s forgiving may have saved a nation. You know, it can help save a marriage, a relationship with a parent or a child, a group, a church, an organization. See, forgiving is hard. Not forgiving is even harder. Unforgiveness is a prison. Forgiveness sets people free; most of all, the forgiver. I know the power of forgiveness, because I am the forgiven by someone I have sinned against over and over again. His name is Jesus. He paid a price for what I’ve done that went far beyond a prison sentence. He paid my death sentence.

The Bible says “He was pierced…crushed…His appearance was so disfigured beyond that of any man” (Isaiah 53:5, 6; 52:14). Beyond that was what happened in His soul when He was cut off from God the Father so I would never have to be. And “everyone who believes in Him (the Bible says) receives forgiveness of sins through His name” (Acts 10:43). That could happen for you today, if you would reach out and say, “Jesus, I claim you as my only possible rescuer from my sin. Would you erase from God’s book every wrong thing I’ve ever done?” And then you experience the power of our word for today from the Word of God in Colossians 3:13, that says “forgive as the Lord forgave you.”

You could be clean inside today. See, that’s the new beginning miracle Jesus does for anyone who takes for themselves what He did on the cross. I’d love to help you meet the Great Forgiver today. Would you join me at ANewStory.com and find out how the new life starts.

 

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.