This Congressman (Kevin Yoder) makes me ashamed to be from Kansas and ashamed to be called Kevin (Stoda)


November 1, 2017

 

 

 

Dear Mr. Stoda,

 

Thank you for contacting me with your thoughts regarding the environment. It is an honor to serve the people of Kansas in the United States Congress and your communication is a vital part of our legislative process.

 

Like you, I feel that Americans should be keenly aware of the impact that they have on the environment.   It is important that we are good stewards of our nation’s valuable natural resources and wilderness areas for future generations. However, enacting new regulations and mandates can have unintended consequences, such as higher energy and food prices, the closure of manufacturing facilities, and loss of employment. Additionally, these higher prices and costs usually fall most heavily on low-income families and our most disadvantaged citizens, and in some cases we may see very few, if any, environmental benefits.

 

Over the past several decades Congress has enacted hundreds of laws intended to improve air and water quality, preserve our wildlife and ecosystems and combat the effects of pollution in our atmosphere. I believe we should enforce those laws and ensure that new regulations are based upon sound science and a thorough cost/benefit analysis.

 

A clean environment is a direct result of a strong economy; without economic growth, societies cannot pay for the technology to keep our environment clean.   As a conservationist, I believe we can protect the environment and still provide for our families and our future.   Although I am not a member of a committee with jurisdiction over this issue, you may be certain that I will keep your thoughts in mind should the House of Representatives consider any relevant legislation in the future.

 

A gain, I want to thank you for contacting me and sharing your thoughts. Please don’t hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of service.

 

Sincerely,

Kevin Yoder
Member of Congress

About eslkevin

I am a peace educator who has taken time to teach and work in countries such as the USA, Germany, Japan, Nicaragua, Mexico, the UAE, Kuwait, Oman over the past 4 decades.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.